Friendship Problems??? Here’s a Guide2Friends

29 Aug

When you’re little, you have one or two very best friends. In highschool, you have groups of friends. And, usually, friends come with drama. I have one or two friends that I literally don’t have any drama with. Of course, they’re the ones I’m closest with. But I have other friends that always seem to have some drama.

My current problem: I have a friend who has really changed this year. She seems so negative and she always finds a problem about something no matter what it is. Being a positive person, that doesn’t work well for me and I feel like we’re growing apart. Soooooo, here is my guide to friends:

Growing Apart  “Every once in a while, people step up. They rise above themselves. Sometimes they surprise you. And sometimes they fall short.”
As sad as it is, we grow and change, which means so do our friends. Some friends stay together and others grow apart. My advice for you is not to try and force it because it just won’t be the same. But just because you grow apart doesn’t mean you have to hate each other. I have friends that I just don’t have much in common with anymore but I still say hi to them in the hall and I still talk with them sometimes. Growing apart doesn’t mean you never have to speak again, it just means you might get closer with some of your other friends that you have more in common with.
Betrayal “When you betray somebody else, you also betray yourself.”

Sometimes we figure out the hard way that someone you thought was your friend, wasn’t. This kind of changes depending on the situation. If you’re friend told another girl that you like a guy in your math class, I wouldn’t say that’s life or death and I wouldn’t say you should never speak to her again. But if she does stuff like that all the time, you might want to rethink your friendship. Like I said, it all depends on the situation, so if you’re not sure that your friendship is worth it anymore, you should ask a friend or parent.
Conflicts Whenever you’re in conflict with someone, there is one factor that can make the difference between damaging your relationship and deepening it. That factor is attitude.

Arguements with friends are a hard thing to deal with because, if you’re anything like me, the first thing you want to do is go tell someone: probably your friend. But getting your friends involved makes people take sides and just causes more drama. Even if you don’t want to go talk to your friend or they don’t want to talk to you, if you feel like you should make up, you have to talk. Don’t involve anyone else, just say “I know you don’t want to talk but we need to work this out. Can we just sit down and explain what happened?” A lot of times, when you talk it out you realize that you might have missed something to begin with and then there’s nothing to even be mad about. If not, sorry is the magic word. 🙂

Gossip “The easiest way to keep a secret is without help. “

I know, I know, I’m a girl too! You hear a secret and the first thing you want to do is tell your friends too. Only one problem: First, you don’t even know whether the rumor you just heard was true. Second, when that person finds out people are talking about them, there’s going to be problems. So the next time you’re going to say something you just heard, the easiest thing to do is ask: 1) Does this even sound possible? And if it does then – 2) If this rumor was about me, would I be running around sharing it with everyone? (And, yes, saying “don’t tell anyone else because I only told you” counts as sharing it with everyone!)

Leave a Reply

